The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

Becoming...something
2004-02-23, 8:37 a.m.

I have the word "become" echoing in my head. I'm not hearing voices, no, it's that little built-in voice. My inner monologue.

Because, you know, I'm all about self-improvement these days. I want to be some how different from what I am. I want to transform into a different person than I am these days.

I want to shed bad habits and bad personality traits. I want to become somebody new.

I tend to berate myself for my failings. I want to BE the person I want to be.

However, the word "become" has been echoing lately, and it has inspired me to keep plugging along. It's not the end result that matters, it's the journey.

I cannot BE a different person. But I can become what I want to be. It's the process of transformation itself that is important. Each step I take, I take on my way to becoming what I want to be.

I may never get there, but the thought of "become" is so inspiring and motivating. It focuses me on the proces, not the end result.

0 comments so far

last - next