The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

There was a bumper sticker
2005-07-14, 12:16 p.m.

There was a bumper sticker on the interstate today that said �Subvert the dominant paradigm!� Yes, with the exclamation point, because there�s no way you can make such a command without exclaiming it.

What does that mean, exactly? I don�t know, but I like the sound of it.

Oh my people! I was listening to the right-wing hate-filled talk radio that I listen to, and only because I like the two shows that sandwich Rush Limbaugh, so I usually turn it down really low during Rush, but anyway. Today I got really tired of listening to Rush say BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH, I mean there are times that the sound of his voice just grates on my nerves, and there are other times when he says something so patently stupid (actually, almost every day) that I just have to turn it.

So today, I couldn�t listen to Rush, not even on �1�, so I flipped to NPR, and oh my sweet Mother of Pearl, Terrie Gross was interviewing Iggy Pop. I don�t care if the man is 50-something. I don�t care if the Crypt Keeper looks like him (rather than vice versa). He is seasoned with a patina of sex, drugs and rock-n-roll. I lust for him, and when I learned that he is releasing an anthology, I promptly got onto Amazon and pre-ordered it. Happy birthday to me!

Wee hee! Look at me! I�m 15! I�m going to have Iggy Pop�s baby! If I could just find him�why is he avoiding me?

And thus I have managed to subvert the dominant paradigm today. Have YOU subverted the dominant paradigm today?

In my continued quest to subvert anxiety attacks, I am avoiding procrastination today. I have dived in, finished tasks, weeded through shit, and stayed off the internets. You are a bad influence, internets! Bad!

Hello, my name is Laura and I am a blog junkie.

My favorite bumper sticker of all time (stay with me now!) is one that said �God used to be my co-pilot, but we crashed in the mountains and I ate Him.� It was illustrated by a simple smiley face with an arm sticking out of the mouth. So eloquent. Yet elegant.

Welp, since I am a production MACHEEEEN, I am going to blow this here popsicle stand and get some more work done. If I don�t, I don�t think my heart can take the little jolts of panic-riddled adrenalin that keep shooting through my chest. MUST.GET.PROJECTS.DONE.AND.OFF.DESK. AND OFF CHEST.

Who is YOUR co-pilot?

6 comments so far

last - next