The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

A potpourri of brain declutterfying
2005-08-02, 3:22 p.m.

A potpourri of brain declutterfying

Something happened to me when I read DW�s diary. I am currently reading (translated: listening to on cd in the car) the latest Harry Potter book �Harry Potter and the Lengthy Narrative Literary Device� and as I am wont to do, I tend to enter the world of the book I am reading and blur the line between book and reality, and so as a result, I suspect there might be something magical that was unleashed when I read said diary.

Tripping on the Digression Crack in the Sidewalk: I also finished up �That Was Then, This Is Now� last night so that I can assist Lil Guy with his summer reading assignment, and as is my wont (I love to say that), I now mentally segregate everybody I see into Greasers, Socs, and Hippies. And if anybody has read that book and remembers it, can you tell me what great life lesson we are supposed to learn from this? I can�t figure out why Bryon called the police on Mark, and why he broke up with Cathy. Seems like there would have been better ways to deal with M&M�s bad acid trip and not hasten Mark�s inevitable trip to the state pen.

So anyway, blah blah diary blah blah magic blah blah something something�oh yes, here we are: I can�t get enough of the man. All that just to tell you that horndoggery abounds these days. It does.

In other news, I am totally digging on the Lubriderm Skin Nourishing with Shea and Cocoa butters (�butters� is deliberately not capitalized and I wonder why) that I received from my thoughtful co-workers yesterday. My hands feel soft and, oh heck, BUTTERY, (I mean, butters-y)and I�m thinking about buying a bottle for home use, and passing along to DW the Vaseline Intensive Care with pro-retinol and UV protection that is causing those little ingrown hair bumps to form on my massive bulging triceps muscles. He�s a man. He�s doesn�t care about arm bumps. Whereas I care so deeply as to consider a sick-day in order to deal with said arm bumps. I arrange my wardrobe choices around arm bumps.

And the back label of the Lubriderm contains the word �supple� and you can�t get any better than that, in my book. I do so long to be supple.

LG did his football thing last night, learned the secret jock handshake, slapped some asses, and is now a part of the team, much to my chagrin because these guys practice 3-4 days a week from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. I understand the need to keep the kids out of the heat in the hottest part of the day, but thanks so much for eliminating any semblance of a home life we might have. Let them practice at 4:00! Keep 'em hydrated! This is going to suck, time-wise, and I am glad it will only last, what? 3 or 4 months, and he�ll prolly get tired of it, and prolly won�t want to be on the team next year. Here�s hoping. ::clink::

In the interest of my continually improving mental health, I am going to cut this nonsense short and get some work done around here. Amazing how getting rid of procrastination pretty much eliminates 90% of the anxiety. Whooda thunkit? Certainly not I.

Tomorrow: look forward to a picture of the rocks, I mean, ancient pre-historic tools and implements.

2 comments so far

last - next