The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

It�s a day of mind-numbing paperwork
2005-08-16, 6:23 p.m.

It�s a day of mind-numbing paperwork and cramps. Those two just go together, don�t they? Might as well do this mind-numbing paperwork: I have cramps, anyway.

Lil Guy�s football team got their pads and helmets yesterday, and they were told that until further notice, practices would be in helmet and shoulder pads, with shorts. So LG suited up with all of these accessories, and I drove him to practice, stopped the car to a slow roll to let him dive out the door onto the asphalt, and to our mutual horror, the other boys there DID NOT HAVE THEIR SHOULDER PADS ON YET. They had them lying on the ground, and helmets were nowhere to be seen.

LG struggled his large melon-shaped noggin out of his adult-large sized helmet hastily in the car, and I suppose just walked the Walk of Overeager Shame with the pads on. Doesn�t that suck, to be the new kid, and to be excited about whatever it is you are doing, and to get all your shit pulled together, and when you get there, everyone else is all cool and blas� about it, and you�re the goober who can�t wait?

Oh well, he�ll get over it. I do know that sense of mortification, though. At least he still has his innocent enthusiasm intact, although this may be another brick in the proverbial wall.

Since I know you all tune in here to get updates on my reproductive organs and their tomfoolery, I�d like to report that there was no discernible ovulation this month, and now I have killer cramps. Youch. How do you crampy people put up with this? And you take ibuprofen, and that makes you bleed heavier. There�s no winning this, is there?

Welp, my friends, I�m truly rather crapped out right now. Or cramped out. So long! Farewell!

4 comments so far

last - next