The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

latersh skatersh
2004-02-05, 10:52 a.m.

At work, I have I-don't-know-how-many BIG effing projects all kind of coming to a head at the same time. Everyday, I have a project finishing up with a big deadline. I keep telling people that it's like being pregnant with sextuplets or something, and I'm 9 and a half months pregnant, and I'm currently in labor trying to get these giant-headed babies out.

So, 3 of my children were born last Friday. But as I came in to work on Monday, I still 4 or 5 of them in there. Another one was born on Wednesday. Another was born yesterday, and I'm currently pushing out another as I write this. A last baby will be born tomorrow morning.

Unfortunately, yet another one of them didn't make it - I screwed the pooch on one of my projects, and it died. Oh well, it was the runt of the litter and is in a better place now.

What I am getting at is, I can't even begin to tell you how good it feels to have almost all of these big freaking deadlines met, projects wrapping up, and being able to get back to sanity. 12-hour days and I do not get along that well. I do things like get angry at DW in public and embarrass him at the bowling alley in front of his friends by having a mini-meltdown.

I'm in such a good mood today. The stress level is lower, there's the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel, my one failure was really inevitable (bad timing) and prolly for the best, and all I have is one more big deadline today - getting a package of materials in an Airborne envelope by 8:15 p.m. I'm just in such a good mood today and had to share. It will be good to go back to focusing on the small things that make up my job.

My lofty goals for this evening are: try to get the envelope in Airborne at 6:00, rather than 8:15. Be home by 7. Watch Friends. Work out. Have sex. Yes, in that order. I'm very organized, and I like to plan things out. If I don't plan this stuff, and sometimes even write it in my planner like I have an appointment, it tends to all just fall to the wayside and I end up slouching on the couch with the dog til I manage to crawl into bed.

OK, so in an effort to make these lofty goals a reality, I shall now get to work. Latersh!

0 comments so far

last - next