The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

Did you know it's Boss's Day?
2005-10-14, 2:46 p.m.

Did you know it's Boss's Day? I didn't, either. Actually, it's this Sunday, but that's the mark of a really good boss: you don't make your staff come in on Sunday to celebrate Boss's Day with you.

I'm such a great boss that I neglected to put a paycheck in overnight, and rather than violate wage and hour stuff all over the place by having it arrive late, I drove said paycheck to Austin this morning. When I got back, there was lunch in the conference room, but I knew about that, because it had been discussed. In fact, the email that I rolled my eyes about yesterday and hurt myself, pertained to Sandwich Friday.

What I was not expecting was balloons and cake. And it wasn't just for me - Mike my colleague is the boss at the other end of the hall, and he was the bewildered recipient of a black leather Harley Midlife Crisis Doo-Rag.

I received a $50 Target card (my entire fall wardrobe!), some pink stationery, and a card that says (AHEM) "Laura, thank you for being a WONDERFUL, UNDERSTANDING and COOL boss."

Y'all, I just am. No thanks are necessary. I labored under enough tyrants, and it's time we all just got a slight break.

Mike and I kept exchanging "What the fuck?" looks with each other. Well, okay, if folks want to celebrate Boss's Day, we'll let them.

NOW GET BACK TO WORK!

2 comments so far

last - next