The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

Our new admin assistant
2005-08-31, 12:41 p.m.

Our new admin assistant starts tomorrow, and I am SO FREAKING EXCITED. I wonder if it would freak her out to know that she is going to save me from what seemed last week to be an impending involuntary commitment to an institution of one kind or another? Shall I not tell her that? Would that be too much pressure?

�THANK GOD YOU�RE HERE � WE�RE SAVED!�

I don�t want to scare her too badly on her first day. Better to let her know by degrees how desperate the paperwork situation has gotten around here.

My little DW got home at 10:00 last night after almost finishing installing the rest of the fake hardwood floor in the new house. Ten o�clock, y�all. Then, we lay in bed and �talked� for quite a while after he ate dinner, and before we knew it, it was 11:30. That�s weekend late for us. I�m weekend tired now.

And hungry. Quite hungry.

I�m all abuzz about new used furniture (much better than the new stuff from the office supply warehouses � we�re talking real wood here), and wire shelving units, and putting boxes into storage, and rearranging the quagmire in the file room, but I�m just puttering and keeping my brain happy and busy.

My real thoughts and preoccupation are with the ever-worsening situation in New Orleans, and the devastation in Biloxi and Gulfport. I saw pictures of Gulf Shores in the paper yesterday, and I can�t believe how that town has been hammered again and yet again. We used to go on our summer beach vacations to Gulf Shores every year. Back in the old days, when hurricanes only hit there every 20 years or so.

How many years - how many times - do you suffer this kind of destruction before you give up on rebuilding, and just dismantle the town, or move somewhere else?

Unbelievable.

Our office is collecting donations, and Peaches� student study group thing (you know the ones - the smug, hip super-smarties) are collecting stuff, too. Please donate what you can because these are our peeps. Or peops. (Obviously, I'm not one of the smug, hip super-smarties, am I?)

Word.

0 comments so far

last - next