The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

I am taken. But thanks for asking.
2006-01-06, 2:05 p.m.

No, I�m not going to file a sexual harassment claim, mostly because Mike and I are equals. In fact, I might even be a little bit above him, and therefore, being an old-fashioned kind of girl, not to mention just old (and tired), I will handle it myself. And if that doesn�t curb his enthusiasm, I�ll talk to his board of directors, which is essentially the same group of folks as my board of directors. My company owns his company; his company works for mine. He even takes direction from me sometimes. I don�t in any way feel threatened or pressured by him. Just completely ::shudder:: grossed out at the very idea. And highly annoyed, but shit, I�m always annoyed with something, so why not this?

He�s a tool. I will put the smackdown on his ass if/when the wildly inappropriate remarks start to fly again. Please trust that this will probably include me saying the words �Back off, old man.�

I was in his office the other day talking about something worky, and he sat at his desk, clicking a pen.

::click-click click-click click-click click-click::

Finally, I snapped �Stop THA-AT!� He did just that, and immediately, I might add. People fear me.

For the record, my sweet little tiny husband does that, too. He�ll sit there and click a pen or thump a pencil on the table while I�m talking, or trying to think or while we�re sitting together quietly doing dueling Sudoku puzzles. �Stop THA-AT!�

Come to think of it, he also aggressively pursues me for dates, and just plain old sex, not even cloaked within an offer of a basketball date. I�m clearly way too sexy for my own good, and just generally a distraction. How can you all get anything done, knowing I�m out here, looking like this:


Come hither. And thither. And � ::YAWN::

Or this:


My bedroom eyes, i.e. like I need sleep.

I know it�s just too much. In fact, I�m going to give you all a break, let you get some work done, refocus on your priorities and allow you all to come to grips with the fact that, hey, I am taken. But thanks for asking.

2 comments so far

last - next