The Way Things Are



%%%%


navigation
home
archives
profile

extras
links
about

contact
email
notes

credit
host
design

Don�t you wish you were my dog?
2005-11-09, 8:38 a.m.

Don�t you wish you were my dog? Because if you were, you (1) would have your own bedroom; (2) would not have had your owners kill you yet despite your TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE, no good, very bad behavior; and (3) would spend your Sunday evenings like this:


Beans on the couch. Her rope toy is situated for maximum convenience.


When the couch is no longer any good, why not try the chair? Beans majored in couch-napping and chair-lounging in college.


Beansie�s room. My mom says we�re not fooling anyone � that�s no bedside table, it�s a dog crate.


Stairway to Heathen.

Lil Guy has a vocab test today, a big one. There were about a dozen words that he was having a little trouble with, so he studied them with DW last night, and I had him quiz me on them this morning in the car. I have found that that strategy works out pretty well. Anyway, one of his words is �wayward�, so I did like any good mother would do, and belted:

�Carry on my WAYWARD son!
There�ll be peace when you are done!
Lay your weary head to reh-eh-est.
Don�t you cry no more. NO!

(guitar solo)

::dow dow dow DOWWWWW::�

�MOM!�

�::dow dow dow DOW::�

�MOM!�

�::dow dow dow dow DOW DOW�DOW DOW::�

�MOM! MOOOOMMMM! It�s okay! I get it!�

�Will you sing that to yourself during your test?�

�YES. Please stop.�

You�re all welcome for the ear worm. NOW GET BACK TO WORK!

6 comments so far

last - next